7 Austin-area music festivals happening this fall

From electronic dance music to traditional Celtic sounds, there’s a fest for every type of music taste in ATX.

A stage littered with confetti while musicians perform, as seen from the crowd.

UTOPiA Fest’s lineup features Sir Woman, Erin Ivey, Mixer Rogers, and more than a dozen other artists.

Photo provided by UTOPiA Fest, Ismael Quintanilla III

Have y’all heard of ACL?

Nah, we’re just kidding. But what’s not a joke is the sheer number of music festivals happening in and around Austin this fall.

We’re talking music + yoga in a Hill Country setting, an Outlaw Masquerade Ball, and traditional Celtic tunes. Music maniacs, now’s the time to add these seven festivals to your calendar.

Austin City Limits Music Festival | Fri., Oct. 7- Sun., Oct. 9 + Fri., Oct. 14-
Sun., Oct. 16 | Zilker Park | $145+ | You know the drill — six days of food, fashion, and major headliners such as SZA, Lil Nas X, and The Chicks.

UTOPiAfest | Fri., Oct. 14-Sat., Oct. 15. | Reveille Peak Ranch, 105 Co. Rd. 114, Burnet | $30+ | Jam out to artists such as Sir Woman + Mixer Rogers at this family-friendly fest that also features yoga, craft vendors, hiking, and disc golf.

LEVITATION | Thurs., Oct. 27-Sun., Oct. 30 | Multiple locations | $16+ | Spend Halloween weekend seeing headliners The Jesus and Mary Chain, The Black Angels, and King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard in Austin’s most iconic downtown venues. Individual show tickets are available.

Lucktoberfest | Fri., Oct. 28-Sun., Nov. 6 | Willie Nelson’s Luck Ranch, 1100 Bee Creek Rd., Spicewood | $35+ | Ten days of musical events — including an Outlaw Masquerade Ball, Luck Night Market, and Día de los Muertos Experience — feature artists such as Orville Peck, Los Lobos, and Tanya Tucker.

Viva la Vida 2022 | Sat., Oct. 29 | 4th Street and Congress Avenue | Free | In addition to a day’s worth of live performances, Austin’s longest-running Día de los Muertos event includes a grand parade, food, and local vendors.

Austin Celtic Festival | Sat., Nov. 5-Sun., Nov. 6 | Pioneer Farms | $25+ | Local + international Celtic musicians will perform amid two days of traditional dancing, highland games, and workshops.

Seismic Dance Event | Fri., Nov. 11-Sun., Nov. 13 | The Concourse Project | $129+ | Wear comfortable shoes — or don’t — and be ready to dance all night at this music showcase featuring Fatboy Slim, LP Giobbi, and Charlotte de Witte.

More from ATXtoday